UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

April 21, 2010

Globe Summer of Code 2010 Week 1

Filed under: globe_200727055 — avamarietan @ 12:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

44 kilometers.

That’s how far my house is from my workplace. I honestly miss summer vacation, seeing that I would have to travel 88 kms everyday until May 31. We are located somewhere in Makati and I go out of the office around 5:30pm. Just imagine the how heavy the traffic is around that time.

Work-wise, I really enjoy our internship program, Summer of Code 2010 (yes it’s named after Google’s). It’s been a week since I’ve started my training with Globe Labs. Last week has really been an eventful week — full of orientations, lectures and activities. Let me give a recap of it:

(Long post ahead)

Monday, April 12. Aspire, Achieve at Ayala.

Globe Labs interns are also part of a larger group, the Ayala Summer Interns. I went to Makati Stock Exchange at Ayala Avenue for the orientation. I didn’t know that Globe is under the Ayala Group of Companies, along with BPI, Honda, Isuzu and other 9 companies. There are 58 interns from the 13 child companies of Ayala. It’s the second year of Ayala’s internship program and the number of interns have grown from 26 to 58.

Hello Makati!

I was the only one from UPd DCS and I didn’t know anyone around. Many interns are part of the Ayala Young Leaders and they already knew each other. The first people I met are also from UPd, Jesson and Irene, which are both Material Eng’g majors. They’ll be working with IMI. I met people from other groups/tables as well. I was eager to meet other Globe Labs interns but found none in our group/table. I still remember their names, Irene, Monique (DLSU-D), KitKat (La Salle-Bacolod), Paolo (UST), Leni (UST) and Ariane (St.Scho Manila). We won in the best group name and best group cheer so each of us won a free movie ticket, courtesy of Ayala Malls. The morning session was about getting to know the other interns and introduction of the Ayala company. We learned their history, mission and vision. I was glad to know the company. Also,  I was glad to meet people from different schools and different fields.

Food!

We had a Project Management workshop in the afternoon. In the middle of the workshop, Jaime Zobel de Ayala visited us and gave a welcome speech. We were lucky that he was in the same building that day. Back to Project Management, it was Mr. Henry Ong, VP of KGI Securities who taught us the process and tools that we could use for effective Project Management. We were regrouped and were asked to select a relevant school issue and to come up with a solution. We chose to address the long lines during UP enrollment (I won’t expound on our presentation anymore, since it would really make the post longer). It was a long day, we were supposed to end at 5pm but we went out at 7pm.

UP Enrollment Flowchart

Tuesday, April 13. First time at Globe Labs.

We had our Globe Summer of Code orientation and I met my fellow interns. There should be 12 interns but for some reason, they had only managed to fill 9 slots. My fellow interns are Richard, Nea, Ily (all of them are from DLSU-d, CS), Roselyn (PUP, CS), Jonathan (SU, Physics), Paolo (STI, CS), Kevin (PLM, CS) and Tanjo (UPd, BA). Not all of us are CS, because in a team there must be a User Analyst, or the non-technical person. We also met our immediate supervisor (IS), Mr. Romy De Villa. Included in the orientation slides is a picture of two DCS graduating students and past GL interns, J. Allen Santos and Olive Dag, who are the proponents of Web2Mobile. Sir Romy challenged us to create something unique as that (I felt the expectations :-S ). We had a free afternoon which we took as an opportunity to get to know our co-interns.

Wednesday, April 14. Introduction to Android.

Mr. Butch Landingin, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) of Orange and Bronze Software Labs, introduced us to Android Development. He gave us the tools we need for Android Dev which we installed on our machines. The installation of all the stuff  (Eclipse, Android SDK, etc) took so long, but at least we were able to grasp the basics. Here is a Hello World program on the Android phone emulator.

"Hello Android!"

"Hello Android!"

We also had our groupings and selected a theme through draw lots. Each group must consist of 1 user analyst and 2 programmers. My groupmates are Richard and Tanjo (the User Analyst) and we got Collaboration for Academic Productivity. Our application should involve mobile phones if not pure mobile app. We spent the rest of our afternoon brainstorming and formulating a project that is still not available in the market. Unfortunately, we didn’t come up with a project that afternoon.

To be continued…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

