UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

April 23, 2010

And the wheels on the bus go round and round

Filed under: cisco_200751004 — jlsantos22 @ 2:23 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am the only intern in the company for this summer, which makes it a bit lonesome for me. I was told that I was going to be exposed and immersed to the different teams of the company – Small and Medium Business (SMB), Channels, Marketing, Sales, and the SE team – so this is going to be a very holistic approach for me as I will be taught business, product packaging, and technical skills and principles. I will also be doing a database management system for their partners in the Philippines and try to fix a certain business program done by a former intern. I was also introduced to Mr. Dave who will be teaching me configurations and aid me in setting-up a couple of their products. If you have already watched Transformers – they used TelePresence, which refers to a set of technologies which allow a person to feel as if they were present, to give the appearance that they were present, or to have an effect, at a location other than their true location, as well as in 24, CSI-NY, and Heroes. CS145 has helped me a lot in dealing with the terms he used when we had a chat.

I’ve had a couple of realizations for my first week of work.

  1. Time is Gold – You are paid every hour by the hour. Whenever you have a time to rest – do not think and argue, REST.
  2. Doing something easy or nothing at all (during my first day of work) is unhealthy – Be careful for what you wish for, cause you just might get it all.
  3. Try to learn things even if you know you are not going to use them in the future because chances are someone will ask you about it.
  4. Have an open mind –things aren’t always how they seem to be.
  5. And the wheels on the bus go round and round – office work is almost the same each and every day – we are like robots. Tip: Always look for something interesting to do.

 

I really salute all our parents and everybody who goes to work. Imagine, doing the same routine everyday for the rest of your working lives? When I had lunch with certain UP DCS alumni and asked them: “So this is what we do everyday”, they said “Yes, unless you put up your own company”. Well, honestly, to me it’s just a matter of perspective and outlook in life – you should always look after what makes you happy because at the end of the day, you, yourself are the only one who could positively say “Yes, I am happy with what I am doing”.

 “Life is not the amount of breaths you take,  it’s the moments that take your breath away.” – Alex “Hitch” Hitchens

– jL (Jose Luis)

2 Comments

  1. Curious – who’s the DCS grad there? Can you please send me his contact details. 😀

    Comment by rom — April 24, 2010 @ 7:20 am

    • Sir, not from Cisco po. I met up with David Achacon and Joan Cantillas from another software company nearby.

      Comment by jlsantos22 — April 24, 2010 @ 11:40 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Blog at WordPress.com.

