UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

April 24, 2010

Feels like home

Filed under: emerson_200778822 — charlene0801 @ 5:40 pm

I am very much honored to have Emerson – Power & Water Solutions as my employer. They have been so accommodating with their interns. I am pleased to have 2 months to get to know them more while having a taste on the real world.

The Power & Water Solutions’ main products concern developing tools which operates power plants. They have accepted 5 trainees. I was the only one assigned to work under the software team. My other co-intern, Theiss (an Applied Physics major from UPd), was assigned under the firmware team. And the other two co-interns, Mark(an ECE major also from UPd) and Queenie(an EE major from PUP), work under the hardware team. The 5th intern is expected to report to work on Monday.

My first and second weeks went smooth. I learned to use a new technology called Visual Source Safe. It is a source code control software which allows you to integrate your code with the rest of the team. This tool is useful especially if you want to track the differences of your code with the newly committed code.

Their ID system monitors their attendance and serves as room and laboratory passes. Here’s mine.

Blog at WordPress.com.

