UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

April 29, 2010

Rocket Science

This week my fellow interns and I continued to plan the rest of the SET module with our supervisors. Planning and designing are very important aspects of software development because it sets the base structure of the program. We started planning a few weeks ago, but we only covered the SET preparation design. Just this week, we were assigned to complete the design for the other parts, so we can present our ideas.

I was told that we were to present our ideas to pique the interest of the possible administrative users. I am aware of this need, as the previous weeks, we had  a difficult time gathering process data from various offices. This was partly because of the lack of consistency in the university system, as well as the lack of communication between the colleges. We are trained to be used to this during registration, and so I am. But I am very disappointed by the fact that one of the interviewees dismissed our efforts to thoroughly investigate the process. This person left us to make assumptions on the matter because it simply isn’t ‘rocket science.’ I find this very rude, and I find that this is one of the reasons our university system is a mess. Why deny simple questions with smug replies, especially when the questions are asked for clarification, precision and improvement?

On the other hand, I am sure I will meet more difficult people on the way. Some clients are particularly monstrous, I hear.

Aside from planning, we resumed to code the interface we designed for the preparation module. This week I continue  to realize the importance of proper documentation. It is very hard to trace code, especially for a big system like the CRS, and especially if various code pieces are split to different files. I know documentation is emphasized over and over, but I guess finding out first-hand always makes the point. For this particular fact, an internship truly is an indispensable experience.

A documentation comic strip

(This was taken from http://itmanagement.earthweb.com/img/2010/03/geeks-documentation.jpg and I disclaim ownership.)

Sam

Blog at WordPress.com.

