UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 3, 2010

Ninth Day at Jae Saeng Phon

Filed under: jsp_200716341 — Paul Rossener @ 10:44 am
Tags: , , ,


Eh eh Eh eh eh Eh eh yo! 2 – N – E – 1!

In the 9 days of my stay at JSP, never have I not heard this song from Dave’s computer. Everyday, always, and seemingly forever, there will come a time that this song will be played. Well it’s better to listen to something than nothing. Programming can sometimes be wearying.

Today is the start of a new week. I arrived a minute late at work. ~tsk tsk tsk~ But now, I don’t have the same there’s-someone-campaigning alibi. ~boo!~

Everyone was early today. Except me and JR. Joel was not around because he has class today. But it’s okay, because we’re already finished with our system. Well, I thought wrong.

When I sat down on my chair, I first checked my mail hoping that I’ll have my account in the CS195 blogsite. None. Oh well. So, I visited our system, checked for some revisions, then finally decided to tell Sir Jovy that our system is finished. Wrong move. It was not yet finished. There’s still more to add: the Help Module.

“Sir Jovy, okay na po to. Ipa-patest na lang sa mga gagamit.”

“Ah, sige, ipalagay mo na sa server kay Sir Neal. Tapos may ipapagawa pa kong susunod.”

There’s more?!

“Alam mo ba yung CHM?”

~croo croo~

“Ano po yun Sir?”

“Yung help file,” then presses F1. Ahh… that’s CHM.

“Yan ang gagawin mo.”

“Ok Sir.” (I’ll try. Hahahaha!)


I guess I can’t have the same peace and serenity again. Got to work work work! Good thing I found this free tool that creates CHM using an easy-to-learn interface. In minutes, I am already working on the help file.

In all the jobs of a software developer, the least thing that I want to do is the help file. I don’t know about you but I find this very boring, not exciting, not challenging at all. But I can’t always get what I want.

Doing the help file the whole day could kill me; bore me to death. So at large intervals, I ease my mind away from it and chat to the two of my closest friends online. We talked about a lot of things: about my problems to some unfinished businesses, about how I miss UP, about Jejemons and camel notations, and more. Then after a few exchange of words, I go back to work again.


Today God tells me the value of friendship. Two people are better than one …If one falls, the other can help his friend get up. But how tragic it is for the one who is all alone when he falls. There is no one to help him get up.


My case today might not be a real life-and-death situation. I’m not actually on a “fall”. But I’m still thankful to God for giving me some true friends to talk to during the most boring moments of my life. I love my friends.

Lesson for the day:

Cherish your friends. Especially those who are true to you. Keep them as treasures.

Links

JSP · CHM · Helpsmith · Eccl 4:9-10

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

