UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 3, 2010

Sixth Day at Jae Saeng Phon

Filed under: jsp_200716341 — Paul Rossener @ 10:16 am
Tags: , , ,

I’m all good now.

I woke up telling myself: Oh men, I feel dizzy. I can’t get up. I’m still sleepy… Uhhh… I can’t go to work. Then I remembered how many days I’ve been absent at work, and told myself: Bumangon ka na nga diyan!

It was just another day at work. Same breeze during the jeepney ride. Same tall trees shading the path walk. Same JSP, same guards, same everything. All except to one: our system!

When I saw what has become to our system, I saw the grandness of my absence. It was transformed from the fat healthy caterpillar that I left before getting sick, to now, a beautiful butterfly, ready to fly fly fly.

I was mesmerized with the transformation, though I haven’t verbalized it that much to Joel. But really, Joel did a phenomenal job in turning our PHP-powered site into a more dynamic AJAX-reinforced one. I felt worthless, actually, thinking that I haven’t done anything in this. But I remembered the database and the forms and the quote unquote combobox and the . . . okay, enough with it. It’s clear that we both worked hard for this.


Now it’s time to move to the next level. Sir Jovy wanted us to integrate the site/system with the barcode registration. Apparently, all model codes are encoded via a barcode scanner. That way, it minimizes errors from human intervention.

At first Joel and I joined together in making the barcode registration work. But Sir Jovy also wanted to make the cursor move automatically to the next field when a code has been scanned. I learned that this can be done through Javascript so I let Joel do the job. I, on the other hand, completed all the data in the database.


It was another fun day at work. And I could have missed it if I haven’t stopped myself from telling that I am still sick.


Indeed, there is power in our words. God created the world just by merely saying: Let there be! We too have the same creative powers. Well, maybe not as powerful as God’s, but they are powerful. And I have proven it just today.


Tomorrow, the youth from our church will be hiking at Mt. Makiling. Kuya Kevin’s inviting me, but I’m a little bit uninclined to go. Let’s just see what happens.

Lesson for the day:

You get what you say.

Links

JSP · AJAX · Barcode · Gen 1:3



Blog at WordPress.com.

