UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 5, 2010

Form Follows Function

So far this week, we finished page one of the view results mock-up. We’ve also added some improvements to the SET preparation mock-up; it’s almost complete– but I’ve noticed it’s been ‘almost complete’ for more than a week now… I hope we finish by Friday!

For the rest of the week, my partner and i plan to learn flot; a graphing plug-in for results view. With it we can finally finish the results view for our presentation next week.

I haven’t come across anything insightful this week, but I did learn a few technical things from coding. Coding conventions, for example, are more useful than i thought they were. Organization is a very important thing, and conventions add to readability– but I found that they also implicate the structure of the system in which they are due.

This week, I was in a tight spot with event handling. I realized how certain anonymous functions were doubling upon bind. The creation of new elements on-the-fly will not have the attributes of their classes if these attributes were declared before they were made; which means that the programmer must re-attach attributes to the new element. However, re-attaching for this system meant doubling the attribute attachments to the ones who do have the attributes. So I asked my supervisor for the workaround, and she told me all about the bind_event convention at the start of the document load. And it was then I saw how conventions were the facade of the inner workings of a system.

As they say, “Form follows function.” Code organization is a give-away to system dynamics.

Sam

Blog at WordPress.com.

