UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 13, 2010

Doing My Part

Filed under: sedge_200743536 — mhbituin @ 11:16 pm
Tags: ,

Last Monday, our country held our first nationwide automated election. I am proud to say that I was a part of this and it was also my first time voting. This is a great opportunity for me since I am not only exercising my right to vote, but I am also doing a project which is an unofficial count of the 2010 Election.After a really long weekend, I had little progress on the project and election day was nearing. I was not worried that much since this project will only display the votes and not encode it on the database.

Come election day, we first watched the news to see if precincts were crowded and see the status of the election. We decided to vote late in the afternoon to avoid the long lines and heat of the sun. When we arrived, the rooms were surprisingly peaceful and only a handful were left voting. It was a fun experience for me as a first time voter.

COMELEC did a good job. Although I’m still doubting the integrity of the PCOS machines, transmission of data, and all that. Hopefully, when my project is done, I can have another basis for what news teams are currently reporting on tv.

-marvin

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

