UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 13, 2010

Sixteenth Day at Jae Saeng Phon

Filed under: jsp_200716341 — Paul Rossener @ 9:07 am
Tags: , , , , ,

<diary edited=“30%”>

I’m working on a new project. It’s a time keeping system for the HR and Finance departments. Ma’am Pat actually gave it to me yesterday, though it was a bit late already (around 3 I guess) so I haven’t done anything yet except explore the Macros of Excel.

I’m just so excited to learn about Excel Macros. It’s not something new to me (the previous system that I’ve worked with was written using Excel Macro). Though I honestly say that it’s my first time to program using it.


I came to JSP with actually a torn mind; torn between what would I do: I am assigned with a new system, but Moises and Alyssa aren’t. Somehow, I felt accountable to them. Then Joel is applying at Nestle so I don’t know who would look out for them in the meantime. I guess it would be me.

So before I started with the Time Keeping System, I first gave the two something they could do. It involves the turn-to-oop project that we just started yesterday. Even though it wasn’t necessary, I thought that it would be a good practice for them to learn PHP while applying their knowledge in Java.


Afterwards, I focused with my new assignment. Now what shall I do first?

It fascinates me as I remember myself having that What-Would-Sir-Kyl-Do before I started with my new project. I really thought I had a Sir Kyllish alter ego. So I asked myself, if I were Sir Kyl, what would I first do?


Ask the client.


With Sir Neal’s advice also, I went to Ma’am Pat and asked her about the details of the project. Yesterday, the only things I got from her were: Time Keeping, 8 hours, Total hours, Name, Employee Number. That’s all! Good thing I know my software engineering. Because if not, I could have been troubling myself figuring out what could those words possibly mean.

I went to Ma’am Pat and asked her to discuss what she wanted for the system. She showed me the Excel sheet that she’s currently using to record the attendance of every employee. She said that she’s having problem with the formula that computes the total days an employee has worked for. Everything computes well until she types in ‘A’ for absent (or other Strings). She gave me a copy and I went back to IT.

Now that I know what to do, my mind suddenly exploded with thousands of ideas. But I have a problem: I don’t know how to program in Visual Basics (new!). Visual Basics is actually the language used to write programs not only for Excel but also for Word, etc.


Anyway, I asked myself again. So what would Sir Kyl do?


Study.


But wait. What’s that Sir Kyl? Ahh… Okay!

With the advice of Sir Kyl (in my conscience) I decided to correct the formulas in the sheet first. One thing I remember from my CS192 is that to let your client know that you are actually doing something. In other words, show progress.


Since correcting the formulas would only need basic math and logic (and not programming in VB), I did this first before indulging myself with tutorials, tutorials, and more tutorials.


By meal time I managed to finish the fixed sheet, with some additional features (can you believe that?). Ma’am Pat was amazed with how fast I worked. Well I was amazed myself too.

Commercial: There’s no more canteen by now. What a sad day. First Sir Jovy. Then the canteen. What could be next?


When I came back to IT, I googled for Visual Basics tutorials for Excel. Then I studied for the rest of the day. My plans in doing my Day 10 and 11 blog entries were postponed. Work is my priority now. Though, between study breaks I joined Luiz as he watched Happy Tree Friends. I almost fainted.

</diary>


I thank God for having Sir Kyl as my mentor. This day proved his worth for me.

Lesson for the day:

I may have had this same lesson before but it’s what I really (re)learned from today: that is, to listen to the advices of my teachers and accept their instructions, because I’ll be using them one day. Just like today.

Links

JSP · Visual Basics · Prov 19:20

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

