UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 26, 2010

Microsecond

Filed under: crs_200655147 — redparfait @ 10:37 pm
Tags: , , , ,

My internship is done, but that doesn’t mean that I have nothing left to write. For my entry today, I’m going to follow a predictable technique used by writers to fill up a series– that is, a summary or some reminiscing. It is annoying for most cases, but I think in this particular one, it would be helpful.

When I first started out I was a confused college student, torn from a pretty much straightforward world to a pretty much loopy one. Now, I am still a confused college student, but one who knows loopy from straightforward– or at least I hope I do.

I remember we were taught how things worked around CRS when we began. Then we moved on to answering support mail. Did you know that there’s a CRS support mail? It still astounds me how silly some people’s problems are (“Hey, I was not born on January 1 1970, could you fix it?”)– but the punch line is how these problems are solved (with difficulty; “please come to this place, meet this person and present your birthday certificate…”). It just shows how intricate and sensitive a computer system can be to the real world, and although it can be quite amusing, it is also very fascinating.

We were supporting for a while, and then we had lectures from Peter (a very awesome now-graduate of U.P. CRS developer). We were taught the structure of the system, the conventions, the things we needed to learn, the technologies we had to use– all from organized quickly-made powerpoints, if not with the high-end whiteboard. But then Peter was already preparing to leave at that moment, and time didn’t stop.

After that we were broken into two groups. And I was left with Maxine, JS and Jaye for the Student Evaluation of Teacher (SET) module with our direct supervisors Mary and JC.  First we designed the interface for a test-maker (just in case revisions had to take place). And then we implemented that, but we never got around to finishing it because we were asked to make a mock-up of more important parts. This being the answering and results portion of the SET.

We presented these two parts of the module, and then were asked to fine-tune it. Finally, we presented it to the Vice Chancellor, and– as I was told, the presentation was a success.

After that we proceeded to further tweak the mock-up to shape it up into the real thing. And… I’m afraid, that was that.

What was two months; it was quick. And I can’t believe I’m writing this right now as if it happened in an instant. But really, when you look back on things, time really is quite ruthless. But as usual, I conclude that the internship was worth every microsecond of my time.

No, I was not paid to advertise CS195.

Sam

Blog at WordPress.com.

