UP Computer Science Interns' Blog

May 27, 2010

Ruminations

Filed under: crs_200655147 — redparfait @ 10:18 pm

This is my last entry. Traditionally, the final statement of things are conclusions, so I will impart my ruminations of the experience.

I was told before that conclusions reach their best not immediately after an experience, but after a while when it has been thought over. For my sake and yours, I hope this is true, and I don’t repeat any realizations or learnings I have already blogged.

The most important thing I learned from my internship in CRS, is that I know absolutely nothing. Well, I’ve realized that earlier since I am applied to the University of the Philippines, and as people say, it is a humbling experience. But taking this internship redefines ‘nothing’ — into, well, a new microcosm of absolution for nothingness. Nonsense. But to make further senselessness of it, I’m sure I will keep realizing this over and over again in life– in different contexts, dimensions, and flavors.

Another important thing I learned worth mentioning is that, we’re under the College of Engineering for a reason. Puns aside, there is this thing called Software Engineering very closely tied to our course. Scoff as analytical and theoretical fanatics will, there is still a measure of importance to practicality. Building a software is quirky, but like any other Engineering course, it has practical use, and it can be put to components. I think that people should find importance in deconstructing a program to parts, and then figuring out which algorithm to use on specific parts. It’s just how how engineers figure out which parts go where in a plan. And hasn’t it be said to the mortality of our ears? “Don’t reinvent the wheel.” Trust the wisdom of the old. Electrical engineers don’t make their own wires. They buy it in Alexan’s.

Lastly, for the major things I will conclude (because I learned a lot, and this is more of a general view on things), people can be completely crazy. I’ve known this for a fact even before, so this is more of a strengthening experience to the belief. And people being crazy will always be a challenge to people who create systems, including computerized ones (since the computerized ones will stem from the old one anyway). They will not only have to battle with their own insanity, but the insanity of those they want to serve. Systems can be described partly as a generalization of processes– and so they have to be consistent and predictable. But people aren’t consistent and predictable, and they’re part of the system. It’s really a challenge to consider every single detail, but it must be done so, in priority. But I think it is also important to remember that nothing is perfect, and so no system can be.

I could say much more, but these are my ruminations, and the most of what I have to say. That’s it for my internship entries. I hope you learned with me.

Sam

(I broke my word count record.)

Blog at WordPress.com.

